Review: Redeemed

Redeemed
Redeemed by Sean Sweeney
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have to say that Redeemed is one of those of those rare book which is so well written that it draws you in even though you can’t stand the characters. And I couldn’t. I hated every single character in this book. Except for the very young Rocco and the second Judge that Duane was involved with, none of them really had any traits that I considered worth redeeming, and was hoping the next paragraph would have a large runaway truck mowing them down in the middle of the street.

Alas, that didn’t happen. I’m not going to go into the plot here, since I’m bound to give away a spoiler, but the story was very interesting. I kept hoping everyone would get their just desserts. Some may have, some definitely didn’t.

I think this is a uniquely Bostonian story, given the fact that’s where the author lives and some of the plot is based on logical postulations given the tragedies that have occurred their recently. There are a few leaps that I don’t agree with, particularly in the last part of the book, but I can definitely see the reasoning behind them.

The writing is excellent. Sean Sweeney can tell a damn fine story, and he does. The opening chapters with Duane on the run from the law have a reader getting into the skin of a very cold-blooded, hardly-human individual. You’re pretty much glad of what happens next, and you feel a bit cleaner at the start of part two.

This one is definitely worth a read.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Redeemed

Leave a Reply

