Review: Jimmy Mender and His Miracle Dog

Jimmy Mender and His Miracle Dog
Jimmy Mender and His Miracle Dog by Leland Dirks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The author gave me a copy of this novel in exchange for a fair review, knowing full well that this is not a genre I normally read. I’m a dinosaur and spaceship and sci-fi kinda guy. And luckily I’m also a fan of good writing and fantastic characterization, which tends to be as rare as a dinosaur or a spaceship in real life. This book has that in spades.

I don’t even know how to categorize this book: Romance? Journey to find oneself? It’s just plain good, no matter where you manage to make it fit in your own mental Dewey Decimals. For the most part, it’s a simple love story of a guy falling for another guy, but there’s just so much more to it. I really don’t want to go into much of the plot and story. It’s told so realistically that I think it’s best for the reader to follow the course.

All I know is that I was really sorry to reach the last page. I wanted more of Paul Young, Jimmy Mender and Phannie. But like most truly great stories, perhaps we got just what we needed to experience from this novel.

I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who likes a good story and real people. Walking away from Leland Dirk’s book, I think most people will believe that’s just what they’ve encountered.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

