Review: Ghostly Paws

Ghostly Paws
Ghostly Paws by Leighann Dobbs
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was very well-written, and the characterizations were very enjoyable. The dialogue was believable, and you really got the small town charm of this story. I really enjoyed the laid-back style and pace of this book, and the inclusion of the cats (especially the mentions given to ferals), and the general mystery itself. I thought the fact that the main character can see ghosts was a nice, quirky touch for an erstwhile detective.

But what kind of spoiled it for me was venturing into paranormal territory where it really wasn’t needed. I could’ve stood for the implication of sorcery and that, but showing it in a way that couldn’t be construed as a hallucination (at least for me) turned this tail from realistic to trashy. If I want magic, I’ll pull out my Doctor Strange comics, or toss a copy of Twilight on the barbecue. I wanted a good, quaint small town mystery here. I almost got it.

I suppose a need to differentiate from the other cat-oriented detective series out there, particularly the Qwilleran books, makes authors take chances. I just didn’t care for this particular risk. It ruined a very nice novel.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

