Review: The Picture of Cool

The Picture of Cool
The Picture of Cool by Laurie Boris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Laurie Boris really makes me depressed, y’know? She’s just too good a writer. Makes the rest of us look like pikers, dagnabit. We have to stop her soon…

I was lucky enough to be a beta reader for this story, and I have to say that it’s hard not to like it. Laurie’s characters are real. Her prose is vivid and enthralling. The last time I read one of her books, I hated the characters; I mean, I wanted them all to be run over by steamrollers. The only character I liked was the pet bird. But I kept reading that book until the end, because the story just drew me in. That’s the same thing that happens with The Picture of Cool.

If you’re reading this, please get off your high horses first before buying and reading this book, as you are going to encounter a situation in it that some of you of a more moronic, sorry, I mean conservative, nature might find “offensive” or “evil” or some other moronic thing. Far too many idiots have that hang-up and if you do, this is NOT the book for you. Don’t read it, don’t leave a preemptive review, just go find a corner and live your sheltered life in deserved ignominy.

If you like a good story, a bit of romance, and realistic portrayals of human beings in love, then this is the book you SHOULD be reading.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

