Review: Moon in a Dead Eye

Moon in a Dead Eye
Moon in a Dead Eye by Pascal Garnier
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every now and then I venture out from the safe little pulp adventures I usually read and attempt something that might actually be considered “literature” by the hoi-polloi. I had received a copy of Moon in a Dead Eye from a Goodreads giveaway last year and it finally made it to the top of the To-Be-Read pile (well, shelf now, actually).

I have to say that after reading the indicia, I didn’t hold out much hope: The book’s translated from the French, and given the Franco-centric isolationism of that culture, I wondered if this would even be readable by a mere American. For once, my expectations were pleasantly wrong; this was both a well-written novel and a very interesting story. And, even better, it began to take some incredibly bizarre twists and turns on the final chapters, culminating in a very weird ending for a “normal” book.

That ending is why I gave this book four stars instead of five, since I just didn’t see some of the motivations for some of the characters to do what they did. I’m a person who relishes the weird, but there’s got to be some rationality behind it, or it isn’t weird – just … odd.

This was a refreshing change of pace, and it’s good to see that the French government’s cultural edicts aren’t making all literature there too French for the rest of the world!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

