Review: Soupy Sez!: My Zany Life and Times

Soupy Sez!: My Zany Life and Times
Soupy Sez!: My Zany Life and Times by Soupy Sales
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was one of the better entertainment memoirs that I’ve read in the past few years. It doesn’t hurt that it was written by a true American original like Soupy Sales. I suppose it’s hard for kids today to understand Soupy’s appeal, as it been nearly two generations since he was active on TV, but he was inventively funny…he did with improvisational humor what Frank Zappa and the Ramones did with music. And, most importantly, Soupy didn’t talk down to.his audience. Kids and adults got the same amazing wit.

This autobiography covers all the stages of Soupy’s long and successful career, from his early days in radio, his wonderful TV shows, his work on What’s My Line, and his return to radio (between Howard Stern and Don Imus of all people).

A rare tale of a rare individual and that unique combination of talent and courtesy. There’s also a pretty good listing of Soupy’s TV and movie appearances in the back, for the OCD in all of us.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

