Review: Faith: Book 1 of Crossroads and Canines

Faith: Book 1 of Crossroads and Canines
Faith: Book 1 of Crossroads and Canines by Leland Dirks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is definitely one of the best indie novels I have EVER read. There’s a quirkiest about it, combined with level of mundane normalcy, that’s a simple pleasure to read. Imagine Hooterville combined with Twin Peaks and you might come close to understanding what I mean.

The characters are very well-written and very natural. You can like them all (and kinda hate one of them) without any sense that you’re being played or being talked down to by the author…Mr. Dirks has created some very real people for this story, and some very real animals as well.

I’m not going to describe the plot at all here, other than to say it builds up slowly. My only complaint is that while we’ve probably seen all we really need to see of these lives, I really want to see more of these characters. That’s what a really good book does for a reader. A good book is like a good British TV show; their oddly (to Americans) short seasons make you want so much more. So much so that when you actually sit back and think about it, you realize that any more might be too much and dilute what you’ve already seen. “Faith” hits you in the face with this realization.

I am sincerely looking forward to the rest of this series. I don’t know if the same characters will be back, but I want back into this little universe.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

