Review: Fantastic Voyage

Fantastic Voyage
Fantastic Voyage by Isaac Asimov
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is one of those true rarities: A book that was worse than the movie. I’ve seen the film and read the book several times. and the movie’s better, even with Raquel Welch and Stephen Boyd acting to the height of their abilities (which isn’t too tall). The movie moves things along a bit more quickly and there’s a lot more interesting character interaction.

The book does win on one aspect: The final disposition of the submarine.

While this was a fun read, I just don’t think it was Asimov’s best; it was like a bad imitation of a Crichton novel (and yes, I know that comparison is horribly reversed). I don’t expect detailed character studies from him, but this one had a couple more easy answers than I would think he would put in a serious story.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

