Review: The Last Defenders

The Last Defenders
The Last Defenders by Joe Casey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was one of the closest things to a good Marvel Comic I’ve read from the company since the Civil War crossover (or as I like to call it, “fiasco”). I’ve always been a fan of the Defenders, and I enjoyed this trade paperback. Nighthawk has always been a fun character, and I really like the Blazing Skull and She-Hulk.

The story brings together some strange character combinations – I’d never thought of Colossus as a Defender, much less involved in the Initiative, and creates/revamps a few (Krang was a good choice for the Sub-Mariner position on the team, as was the inclusion of a new-ish Son of Satan). Joe Casey’s story was an enjoyable read, centering on Nighthawk/Kyle Richmond’s personal crises as team leader. The artwork was also not bad, compared to most of the photo-realistic or manga-spawned travesties that populate modern comics these days.

This was a good coda to the original Defenders (later followed up with in Matt Fraction’s short-lived series). If you’re a Defenders fan, give it a try.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

